Health

A War Of Angels

On The Front Lines Struggling To Survive

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2020

--

I consider myself one of the lucky ones. I’ve got food in the pantry, and for now, toilet paper, paper towels, and sufficient sanitary wipes my wife and I believe will suffice.

I’ve got a roof over my head, a steady income (for now) to pay the bills, and I’m working from home where it’s safe. Aside from the occasional bouts of “cabin fever,” I’m good.

Yea, me, right? Well, this isn’t about me.

Last night the thought slammed into me doing ninety to nothing. What about all the angels out there fighting this pandemic war? What about all the doctors, nurses, hospital administrative staff, technicians, and orderlies?

What about all the first responders? The firefighters, the police, the emergency medical technicians?

What about them? Each of them is fighting this war.

“It is only those who have neither fired a shot nor heard the shrieks and groans of the wounded who cry aloud for blood, more vengeance, more desolation. War is hell.”
William Tecumseh Sherman

In Time magazine, Tara Law’s article describes the effects of health care workers who’ve been fighting this microbiological enemy for months. Despite acute…

--

--

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.