A Week Without Your Child

Diamond Parents
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2020
image by author

Are you and your child’s mother or father separated? If so, there’s probably a visitation schedule that you both abide by. Most fathers are only get their children on the weekends and most mothers have them throughout the week. Is this the right action taken by our court system? I personally do NOT think that a child’s life situation should be so generalized as the court system makes it to be. Regardless, how do you cope when you don’t have your child with you?

Me and my daughter’s mother have been apart three and a half years now and not having my daughter 4 days at a time is just as hard as when the schedule first came about all of those years ago. I am a parent that cherishes every moment with my daughter and desires to be in her life every hour of every day. How have I made it work the past three and a half years? I have learned to cope with the situation.

The ability for a person’s mind to cope with certain situations is remarkable, but that doesn’t mean things are any easier. I suggest, for any parent out there wondering how to ease the frustration and pain, you find something you really enjoy doing and letting that drive you day by day. A lot of people cope with things by staying busy and not facing the situation. That is not a healthy coping mechanism at all! Staying busy with a hobby with a sense of happiness doing it instead of a distraction is a healthier solution.

My way of coping with split parenting is to constantly be working on things that will better my daughter’s life and happiness, such as: parenting blogs and videos, some extra work, crafting and creating things that she will love when she gets back to me, etc. The best part is, these are all activities that I enjoy doing and happen to benefit her as well.

This article is designed to relieve some feelings inside of me, as I have just dropped by daughter back to her mother’s house. Hopefully, some of you parents out there will be able to take some relevance to this situation and this helps you cope a little better. I do not drink, party, or do any activity that my daughter cannot be a part of, so this does make it a bit more difficult for coping on my end that the average. When you are able to find some way to cope and get a little bit of peace with things, your child will be able to notice. Lastly, make the time you have with your little one count! Give them experiences and memories! I know this is a little personal, so thank you for listening and I hope this helps.

--

--

Diamond Parents
ILLUMINATION

Helping parents increase the quality of life for their children.