“A Winter Night’s Encounter with Poverty.

MMMY
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 1, 2024

--

DAll- E image (AI generated)

This sad story is related to me. During the Covid-19 pandemic, job opportunities were scarce, so I turned to Uber driving. In those days, people lived in a very fearful situation, and no jobs were available. The driving experience was also very favorable in understanding many things about life and society.

It was a cold winter night, suddenly I saw a donkey cart in front of me, and two human heads appeared in the back of the cart just in the middle of the road, I braked hard. Upon coming out, it was realized that two innocent children were sleeping carelessly without distinguishing between life and death. Their father had tied the cart with a rope but the donkey had wandered into the road. These people live in huts that collect paper, cardboard, and tin cans from the streets at night and live on the money they get from selling them.

I was stunned, pushed that cart to the side, and found their father who equally looked vulnerable. I realized heartfelt pain when I saw innocent kids sleeping in that way. These kids deserved better places to sleep, but poverty deprived them of comfortable and warm beds.

Seeing these helpless children sleeping on a cart reminds me of the World War II efforts. It was remarkably successful in Europe, but similar aid struggled in low-income countries. Let’s dig deeper into it.

--

--