Living Root Bridges: A Wonderful Trip and a Lesson in Caring for the Environment

Lessons learned among the mountains, springs, bridges, and a waterfall.

Lokajit Tikayatray
ILLUMINATION

--

Double Decker Living Root Bridge, Nongriat, Meghalaya, India (Photo By Author)

I love traveling. I love going to places on trips and explore the local cuisines. Mostly I prefer where nature is in abundance. I like to get lost in the vastness of nature. The peace it brings to me is priceless. I always want to stay there longer and enjoy the beauty and peace that nature has to offer.

One such trip of mine was to the Double Decker Living Root Bridge in Meghalaya (India).

There are many such living root bridges present across Meghalaya, which used to be and still are the only means of crossing the rivers and streams. These bridges are hand made, by the indigenous people of the region, out of living roots of the Ficus Elastica tree.

There are living root bridges that are hundreds of years old. Almost all of them are single-decker bridges. Double Decker bridges are very rare. Hence, it was a sure visit place for my friends and me.

To reach the Double Decker bridge, one needs to climb down more than 3000 steps, built with cement and concrete blocks, with hills and forest on both sides of the steps. As you can imagine, going down the 3000 levels is not easy, and imagine…

--

--

Lokajit Tikayatray
ILLUMINATION

Blogger, Techie, Leader with 18 years of industry experience. Inspiring people through Technology, Personal Development, & Leadership — lokajittikayatray.com