A World On Fire

A poem about life

Emily Wilcox
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Cullan Smith on Unsplash

I watched a building burn last week,
Like a star had plummeted down.
These golden flames, the sky ablaze,
As though the Earth had on a crown.

I leaned against the radiator,
Eyes transfixed on the fire in sight.
Lingered too long, too captivated it seems,
Then just like that, I felt the heat bite.

Nothing compared to the inferno just there,
But for a second I was part of the plot.
Inside this 5D movie, cast and crew,
Immersive and excruciatingly hot.

But then I stepped away from the wall,
The building outside still alight.
Felt the chill in the air graze against my skin,
Whilst out there, the sky burned all night.

And just for a moment I wondered,
What else, worldwide, is going on?
Throughout this planet that never quite cools,
Life burns brightly — one by one.

--

--

Emily Wilcox
ILLUMINATION

In a parallel universe I imagine I’m an astro-archaeologer or an orange cat (either way, I’m curled up on the moon) but here, and forever, I’m a storyteller.