Accountability In Publishing

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2021

--

https://pixabay.com/photos/desk-ink-education-paper-table-1869579/

When I have lapses in my writing, I realize I feel like I am less accountable. While I am not out in the world right now running around, doing things wrong, nor am I doing anything to cheat myself, or someone else, it still can feel like I’m cutting myself short. I hadn’t originally planned to publish any articles today, but the more that plan sunk in, the more I wanted to veer from it, and do the total opposite.

Something inside my mind was telling me to write because that way I wouldn’t end up cheating myself. Now if I wrote nothing, the world wouldn’t end today. It would go in whatever way of destiny it has. However, I continue to find a lot of fascination because, on days just like these, where I have to push myself with a little more effort than first planned, I end up in a world of self-exploration, with ideas and emotions that are unplanned, and unexpected.

Accountability was once the greatest fear of mine. However, I could flip that and make some major changes. The type where that same accountability goes from foe to friend, and becomes a great tool when it comes to self-care, acceptance, and living the right life, even when nobody’s looking.

https://pixabay.com/photos/fountain-pen-note-notebook-page-1851096/

--

--

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com