ADHD Brains Have a Problem With Passion

They’re fleeting, never ceasing, and impossible to pin down.

Jeff Peirish
ILLUMINATION

--

Person standing outside in the night spinning a sparkler above their head.
Photo by burak kostak from Pexels

Yesterday my dream was to own a golf course with a popular hip café adjacent to an airport.

Today my dream is to work as a day trader from anywhere in the world while coaching others on how to do the same.

Tomorrow? Who knows.

The ADHD brain is addicted to passion, addicted to the next exhilarating interest; only for the luster to wear off before you even get started.

For example, this past Saturday I dusted off the golf clubs and hit the driving range for the first time in 2022. I hit my clubs very well by my standards.

Maybe too well.

I say this because in the days since, I’ve spent hours on YouTube, online forums, and gear websites searching for my next set of irons.

If I can finally hit my clubs this well, it’s time for me to upgrade into something new. I’m ready to break into the 80s and have my best year yet!

At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

Knowing me, this won’t be a major interest of mine come next week, and I’ll likely keep my current clubs for yet another year.

--

--

Jeff Peirish
ILLUMINATION

Figuring out where I'm supposed to be when I'm always all over the place | Professional Jet Setter | Top Writer in Ideas