How to Turn ADHD Into Your Superpower

simplest
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

ADHD Can Be Your Superpower
Photo by Paul Skorupskas on Unsplash

You read that right. ADHD can be your superpower. For years, I struggled with my ADHD. I wasn’t diagnosed until I was 17.

My inattentive ADHD was harder to recognize. I wasn’t bouncing of the walls or fidgeting constantly. I was actually pretty organized and able to keep track of my schoolwork.

That said, when I was sitting still in a classroom, I wasn’t actually paying attention. I was off in my own thoughts. Often, I’d be thinking about sports or other activities that actually drew me in. Since I wasn’t misbehaving blatantly and I got decent grades, teachers didn’t notice my limitations. Looking back, I think the education system is seriously flawed. It seems ridiculous to expect kids to sit still and pay attention for 8 hours every day when the teachers aren’t even engaged in the topics they’re teaching.

I feel grateful for the handful of teachers who met me where I was at and tried to channel my passion for sports into learning opportunities.

Now, onto how your ADHD can be a superpower.

For me, I’m able to focus deeply for hours on end if I’m working on something I deeply care about.

Not everyone has this ability to “hyperfocus.”

As an adult with ADHD, I find myself needing to channel my energy into things that draw me in…

--

--

simplest
ILLUMINATION

Reformed tech worker who's turned to writing. Sharing work on: writing, learning, psychology, philosophy, ADHD, jiu jitsu, and more. (May eventually niche down)