Ah, Oh Soul Of My Soul

Nagwan Lashin
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2023

Only in Gaza….

CC: a7mhisham

Since my mom passed away, I haven’t cried like I did when I saw that short video and those pictures all around.

It touched my heart deeply, marking a moment I’ll always remember.

That Syrian man, fifty years old, smelling his little granddaughter, like flowers. He gently kissed her eyes and held her close, as if breathing in her sweet scent. Then he hugged her tightly. If only time could pause right there.

He smiled calmly and strongly. He didn’t want to let go of his beloved; he was completely absorbed in her, not aware of anything else.

And his first words were, ‘The soul of my soul’… That’s the kind of love I truly understand!

The emotions and yearning in my heart were genuine and sincere…

It wasn’t just a granddad saying goodbye to his granddaughter; it was a lover whose heart melts in her love…

A scene, lasting less than a minute, is more powerful than even the most amazing poetry.

Ali ibn Abi Talib was asked: ‘Is there anything harder than death?’ He said, ‘Yes, losing loved ones.’ Truly, that’s the undeniable tragedy.

via : Shababeek.org .

Next time you see a bearded man wearing a turban, don’t get scared. Instead, worry about the people who didn’t stop a fight that hurt lots of innocent people. Many were forced to leave their homes, many got badly hurt, and lots of kids were purposefully hurt or killed.

--

--

Nagwan Lashin
ILLUMINATION

Muslim, Woman, Chief Chaos Commander of one Husband and two Kids. I write about religion, parenting, life, business and all the hilarious moments in between.