AI Can’t Make Movies Yet — But it Can Make Movie Posters

Make unique Movie Posters with Midjourney

Andrew Crider
ILLUMINATION

--

Image available to author via unique access to Midjourney; the author assumes responsibility for the authenticity.

In a previous version of my life, I was a playwright. I wrote and directed some of my work on stage in Chicago and Alabama, and I miss the creative process. I’ve always been intrigued by the visual and textual medium and their intersection. I wanted to make movies and television shows, but the process of filming, editing and promoting seemed insurmountable. So I became a different type of storyteller, namely a Business Consultant. I’ve enjoyed it, but I keep turning back to fiction. However, making movies has only gotten harder.

Hollywood’s Economic Crisis

In the above clip, Matt Damon discusses the business side of making non-blockbuster movies and that the creative process is much riskier now without the belts and suspenders of Movie Tickets and DVD Sales. Streaming has changed everything. I talk a little about economics and how Digital Art is affected by apps like Midjourney and Stable Diffusion.

--

--