All good things to those who wait…

But are good things guaranteed?

Pankhuree | Kaleidostopia
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

It was one of those days when I was restless and anxious. And it was all showing on my face.

After looking at my expressions, my father asked, ‘What happened to you again? You’ve been looking like that a lot lately!’

‘It’s just that I am not reaching anywhere! With my job, the exams, the interviews, visa applications, relationships, and adulting! Too much is happening but I am still not reaching anywhere. The more I try, the farther I am from what I imagined I would be… I am tired. It has been too long.’ My eyes start to water and I stop explaining.

He waited a moment and then asked, ‘Do you remember the time when we went to the beach?’.

I was super confused as to where he was going. While wiping off the tear, I say ‘Yeah’, uninterested.

‘Did you play on that beach?’

‘Dad, I am confused. Where are you going with this?

‘Just answer’, he said calmly.

‘Did you play? What did you do? Tell me.’

‘I made sand castles.’

‘With?’

‘Sand. Dad. Sand.’ My expression turned sarcastic, which of course he did not appreciate.

He rolled his eyes and asked, ‘Wet or dry?’

‘Wet only! Dad. How can I make castles with dry sand? I have to mix water, otherwise it won’t stay. It’s science! I AM GETTING ANGRY NOW’ I say.

‘Okay! Don’t shout at me! I AM TRYING TO MAKE A POINT HERE.’ He shouts. But then calms down and continues to speak after taking a few deep breaths.

‘Now, replace sand with your hard work and water with time. They don't work without each other…’

Photo by youssef ouajiz on Unsplash

I was quiet.

‘Water and sand can trickle away from your fingers, individually. You cannot hold on to them no matter what you do. But you can hold them when you mix them. Right?’

I nodded, trying to digest whatever he was saying.

‘Everyone focuses on the sand, the hard work that they are putting in. But remember… No water, No castle. So, no time, no success.’

I was blank. He might have thought I was stupid at that point. But I was just in awe by how he could relate a beach, a fun place, into a very deep discussion. Just Wow!

He continued, ‘When I started working on my own, I was alone, unaware, scared, and I was cheated on. But I kept doing the work, kept learning, met people who did not help me, and met people who did, I grew. And it. took. a. lot. of. time.!’

‘So, I am guessing you made your sand castle?’ I said after finally finding my voice.

He smiled and answered, ‘Yes, but I made it with cement and water, you know I’m not Sandman ;)’

I mirrored his smile, feeling proud.

‘So, do not worry if the sand castle might not look good, is breaking a lot, or might just be taking a bit more time than you imagined. Just keep working…

…and be ready with the flag for the top. You’ll get there.’

Photo by Jaime Spaniol on Unsplash

So…

Good things definitely won’t be guaranteed. Sure!

The only thing in your control is your hard work and of course your faith in time.

And, if you keep at it, it will surely be a lot better than your present state, if not the best, or whatever you dreamt of. Good enough still, Innit? ;)

Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Until Next Time,

Toodles!

--

--

Pankhuree | Kaleidostopia
ILLUMINATION

I write about feelings. Truth or Fallacy? Just a matter of perspective.