Am I A Failing Ally For Liking Harry Potter?

My heart and my brain are fighting.

Alex Rosado
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Shayna Douglas on Unsplash

A couple of years ago, we entered the Cancellation Era and changed culture forever. The world became simultaneously better and harder. People were finally called out on their mistakes, or crimes, but entire fandoms were brought down with them.

Every time someone beloved is accused of something, there are always die-hard fans who refuse to believe it. To a certain extent, if there is no proof and the person who goes to trial is not convicted, I can understand — even though we should all know by now that justice is not as fair or impartial as it should be.

Some icons are at the origin of heated debates between fans and casual enjoyers. I’m thinking about Michael Jackson and Johny Depp, for example. Both are beloved by some, hated by others, and no amount of accusations or testimony will change that.

It’s not the case with J.K Rowling. To this day, I have yet to hear someone take her side and support her beliefs. I know there are many people that have similar beliefs, but they tend not to spend time on Twitter with Potterheads.

Now, I want to say that I support Trans people, and the entire LGBTQA+ movement and community. I believe that love is love and that everyone should be able to express themselves and be…

--

--

Alex Rosado
ILLUMINATION

French. Oversharer. Occasional critic. A bit dramatic but still figuring things out