America is Reexamining the Story It Tells Through Its’ Symbols: How Do We Decide What Must Go?

The true story matters a lot

Jean Anne Feldeisen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Paul Schellekens on Unsplash

Where are all the statues going? Why did Rhode Island just change it’s name? Is a name just a name or a symbol of racism? Are historical symbols a means of documenting and remembering our past or underpinning racism. As with most things, the context is critical.

Like many people, my mind has been a bit boggled lately, by the rash of radical changes to the symbols of our American history. Some of them have been years in coming, after long drawn out campaigns to make changes. But others were a complete surprise to me. I had to do some quick thinking to get on board with this change. Because I definitely don’t want to be left behind in the antiracist movement underway right now.

Thinking about this reminded me of a ”cute dog picture” I posted on Facebook a few years ago. I was really surprised-and defensive, I might add- by many of the responses I got to my picture.

What happened?

I posted this picture of my daughter’s Boston Terrier ”Fatty” on Facebook. I got all kinds of criticism about the dog on the oven door and also because I called him “Fatty”. Someone said ”you shouldn’t even joke around with pictures like that because it…

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
ILLUMINATION

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.