An Absolute Drone Beginner Buys a Drone: A Review

Cassie Ring
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Photo by: Cassie Ring

Have you ever watched videos on YouTube that just take your breath away? They have incredible aerial establishing shots that really set the scene.

When I first started noticing those shots, I assumed the look was unachievable for someone like me- a total beginner. In my head, drones were:

  1. Expensive
  2. Hard to operate
  3. A Legal mess.

Today I’m going to tell you how I overcame my hesitations about drones, and what it’s been like with my very first drone as an absolute beginner!

Picking a Drone

The first thing I had to do was pick a drone. This of course depended on what I intended to do with it. On one hand, I wanted to make my YouTube videos more exciting, and on the other, I wanted to add a new feature to my portfolio- Real Estate Photography.

When I researched the best drones for professional use, I came across the DJI Mavic Air 2. I convinced myself that this thousand dollar drone was the best option. However, I also read how easy it was to crash, and decided to take a little breather.

The last thing I wanted to do was drop a large sum of money on a drone, immediately crash it, and lose that money.

--

--

Cassie Ring
ILLUMINATION

I’m just living my life with my husband, my dog, and my camera.