An Article To My Future Self (Age 35)

I believe you became what I am hustling for currently

Dharmesh Basapati
ILLUMINATION
4 min readNov 19, 2022

--

Photo of Author by Author from Canva

Few days back, I read such an article by Varun Khadri (who got inspired from a video from YouTuber Nathaniel Drew) and thought it is a great idea and concept to work on.

Currently I am on the verge of my 30s.

So wasting no time for both of my current and my 35-year old versions, let’s get straight to the point.

At this point, I don’t want to just hope that you are doing well in life but I believe that you will be working less and earning more after 5 years from now.

We both know how tough our lives went in the last 30 years, honestly, not that tough. But still we have seen those days where we just don’t want to live at all.

Family First

As I write this, I have a beautiful family consisting of my wife, one kid, parents, younger brother and his wife.

But I know after 5 years, we will become a huge family having kids of our younger brother and we might have become a father of our 2nd kid as well. Who knows.

I hope that our parents stay alive and stay healthy and live much more than us and most importantly you live with them to take care of them.

Our first son, Mivaan, will be grown up and ready to go to school, but I know he makes your job tougher. I believe he became more naughty till then. But,

I know you are laughing and cuddling him right now.

And most (x3) importantly we all live together. If you know you know.

Healthy, Wealthy, and Fine

I am begging to believe that you must have managed to take some valuable time out for your health as well.

You and I both know this very well how bad our immune system is. So, I believe you should be doing something for bettering it day by day.

I hope that you have included some good habits in your routine like yoga or meditation, at least.

And we both know how good we feel when we are free from any disease or headaches.

And if I talk about wealth, you know how hard it is for us to earn in-spite the talent and creativity we possess.

But I believe in myself that what I am doing and hustling for currently, will make you feel proud of your younger version.

Hope till then, Medium and Stripe have activated Medium Partner Program for us, Indians (or hopefully all over the globe).

Are You Still Employed or Developing Apps?

I expect a big NO from you.

Yes, I enjoy developing apps currently and I know it is my primary source of earning diapers and milk formulas.

But I also want you to excel in it and go beyond developing apps and give back to the community in any capacity you can.

And for making it easier for you, I promise I will do my bit with utmost dedication without any excuse(s).

I don’t know where you are in your professional journey BUT I pray that you have your plans ready to either leave your job OR desperately leave your job, at any cost.

Have you cracked the Social Media game?

I think you have cracked it and even if your answer is NO somehow then also I know that you are doing much better than now.

We both know how it feels when our well-thought post or graphic got 0 likes or comments.

But I am growing gradually and I believe till time you are reading this we have learned and gained some good amount of experience to make it big.

I am learning some cool stuff to help you out in the future. As the time goes, we will realize, how helpful that comes in our craft.

Our Beloved, Medium !!!

I and you, knows this from the bottom of our keyboards, that how much we love writing on Medium.

You remember that day when we first wrote that silly blog but which became a stepping stone.

Go, take some time to cherish that silly piece of ours.

But from that blog, I am currently writing my 197th blog on Medium and I believe you must be writing some 1000th one.

But most importantly, we must be earning good enough to call it a side-hustle anymore.

Goals I Hope You Achieve

  • You are finally enjoying your life truly with all the abundance of knowledge and experience.
  • You are cherishing your family responsibilities with more passion and love.
  • You became more confident and open to every opportunity.
  • You are getting fitter and better every day to improve your immune system.
  • You are eating more healthy food — leave it — that’s not easy for you 😜.
  • You understand people around you much easier after these many years of struggle.
  • You can finally call yourself — an extrovert who sometimes want to stay introvert.

Don’t take it personally but you should have achieved this If you haven’t yet.

But as I know you perfectly, there is no peer pressure from my side but try to manage your time and closed ones.

Time to stop BUT you better keep going and start writing an update of this blog for our 40s version.

The show must go on and you can openly leave a note where you feel anything for me.

Till then, to all who are reading this, please support me to make my future self feel proud on me and you of course of helping:

If you liked this story and want to read thousands of stories like this on Medium from me and various top writers, you can become a Medium member for as little as 5$ a month. If you’d like to support my writing, use my referral link, and I will get a portion of your membership without any extra cost to you.

Kudos !!!

--

--