An Autism Heart and a Mother’s Day Photo

Priya Tandon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2021

--

Author’s own

Is it too much to ask for? I just want a Mother’s Day photo. I was in a reckless self regret mode.

The COVID did its number last year and this year only seems to feel like a small child beginning to walk- tumbling, falling, crying, getting up to walk again, but not giving up. Like this child, the moment will come when we all as humanity shall walk again before running.

However, my challenge with a Mother’s Day photo exists before the virus had crept into our lives. I will try my best to explain here. I have a son on the Autism Spectrum- yes, the universe wanted to up my game, and this baby was to turn my life upside down in more ways than I could have imagined.

Even before he arrived in my arms, he made the whole world go around him, and by the world as a whole, I mean the team of doctors and nurses who had to pull him out from mama’s tummy in an emergency C-section. He made sure everyone took notice of his arrival in the grand style, giving me nerve-racking palpitations. My finger-sucking second-born, with his big brown eyes and a smile, was always content. I started to observe that he was in his world, but he did not respond to his name and was oblivious of where he was and who was holding him. He was not uttering a word and was nearing 18 months old. No other milestones were delayed, and with regular wellness checkups…

--

--