An Introduction

My Bio for Illumination

Andrew Jacono
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo courtesy of Author

Greetings, fellow writers, editors, and friends! I’m Andrew Jacono. I joined Illumination about a month ago, and for some reason haven’t yet formally introduced myself. I’ve finally decided to come out and give a bit of background about who I am and what I hold dear.

The Beginning

I was born on Long Island, New York in 1997 to a kind, caring, and fiercely loyal cosmetologist mother and an ambitious yet unabashedly goofy surgeon father. Until my younger siblings were born, I would spend most of my time holed up in my room reading stories (like Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, and Captain Underpants) and trying my shaky hand at writing. When I was eight or nine, I began a comic book series about a superhero named Lord Guy, who had the powers of flight and super-strength and could defeat any bad guy without so much as a flick of his pinky, and by the time I turned 12, I had written my very first (and very bad) series of poems about love (as if I knew what it meant at so young an age) and penned a number of short stories that tackled every subject from being a kid in the late 2000s to living as a soldier in ancient Rome (with anachronisms abound; I had Plebeian citizens eating hamburgers and steak fries).

My Foray into French

--

--

Andrew Jacono
ILLUMINATION

Musician, mountaineer, and writer for P.S. I Love You, The Junction, and others. If you’d like to learn more about me, you can visit www.andrewjacono.com