Addendum 1

Anatomy of a pool.

Closing in

Robert Shaneyfelt
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Pool build at tile and coping stage;
Tile and coping stage of pool build. Photo by the author/

Sequel to part 3.

The stepped coping will be the waterfall.

As stated by the Rolling Stones:

You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometime, you might just find, you get what you need. — Rolling Stones

As I monitored the progress of my pool, The many days of no work gave me a bad feeling. The pool build process should take about ten weeks. It has only been about five weeks since the excavation. The plaster phase and the patio deck and concrete phase should have plenty of time.

I need to make sure my fence and gates meet city requirements. My pedestrian gate needs to be self-latching and self-closing, a spring. The latch must be at least 54 inches (1.37 m) above the ground.

My vehicle gate on the other side of the yard will be much simpler. Wide enough for a dump truck with no access from the outside. No handles on the outside.

This week, the gas line was laid and inspected by the city. All major holes have been filled, and cleanup has started. My year-round heater will be gas-fed.

--

--

Robert Shaneyfelt
ILLUMINATION

I received my Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from Trine University. “To write about life first, you must live it.” - Ernest Hemingway