And Then, I Came Back To Breath

A simple yet effective way to get grounded and accept reality of the moment

Vikram
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 27, 2023

--

It was one of those days. Nothing was going my way. I was all over the place.

Everything kept triggering me.

Frustration,

Anger,

Disappointment…you name it.

It felt like I was sitting in the rear of my car, and these emotions randomly kept taking turns to be in the car’s driving seat.

I keep making it worse by fighting with them whenever they take over.

I know that I need to take back control of my vehicle or at least need to not make it worse by fighting.

I keep failing, over and over again.

That failure makes me more flustered.

It’s a downward spiral.

Photo by Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

I have come out of these situations in the past. But why am I not able to do it now? I don't know.

Maybe, I need to let go. I tried to let go.

Trying is a waste of time.

And then, I came back to breath.

I felt free, I felt lighter, I felt better.

I realized that fighting with these invisible enemies made it worse. I could simply come back to breath, pay close attention to the breath entering my nostrils to the breath coming out.

And, I did.

I found out that as I came back to the breath. These enemies tried even harder, but I kept my attention on my breath, not giving them any heed.

I got to do this more often.

This is home….Breath is home.

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoy reading my content, consider subscribing to my feed by clicking here. That way you get my newly written articles straight into your inbox.

--

--