Angry Customer Over Cheese

A story from my time as a grocery store cashier

Zephyr Zambrano
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

When I was in high school, I worked as a cashier at a grocery store. Not every customer I got was nasty, but plenty of them were.

One day, I was scanning this one man’s groceries. One of the items was a package of freshly sliced cheese, either from the deli department or the cheese department. After I scanned the cheese, the man saw the price that popped up on the monitor, and he immediately got angry. He started complaining that the cheese he got was priced incorrectly as a different, more expensive, cheese.

Someone in the deli or cheese department might have accidentally mislabeled the cheese. Mistakes happen sometimes. And something like this really wasn’t the end of the world.

At this grocery store, cashiers were trained to call a manager to resolve any issues with customers. This is because cashiers didn’t have the power to do anything besides ring up customers, take payments, and give change if the customer paid with cash.

I called my manager over to help resolve the issue. The man told my manager the problem with the cheese. The manager apologized and told him that he could have the cheese for free for his trouble. My manager then manually overrode the price of the cheese on the register and set it to zero.

--

--

Zephyr Zambrano
ILLUMINATION

Hobby writer and amateur photographer who enjoys writing stories about a variety of topics.