Another Reason For A Universal Language

What can you possibly do when your attractive new business associate sees your inner self, and you are rendered speechless and vulnerable?

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Curated Newsletters
4 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Photo by Victor Garcia on Unsplash. com

I’d like to establish two things.

The 1975 training class at the Philadelphia brokerage firm, Ronson & Co contained 10 aspiring brokers. It was when investment firms were just discovering women could be incredibly successful in the field. Therefore, Ronson & Co. had its first woman broker in training along with the 9 men that were in the class. Her name was Priscilla Palmer.*

I took Spanish for 7 semesters in junior high, high school, and college. You’d think I’d be fluent in the language.

I’m not.

Because of my difficulty with languages other than English, my studies included the first year 3 1/2 times.

I was just able to scrape by the language requirement in college with a low C. I remained throughout, to this day, unscathed by the ability to speak Spanish.

You, the reader, maybe thinking by now:

How can those 2 divergent topics possibly blend into a story that I should waste 4 minutes of my time reading?

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Curated Newsletters

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.