Another Year

Katherine M. Gamble
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2020
Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

I love birthdays. I see them as personal holidays.

Earlier this month, I was blessed to see another birthday. Seeing a birthday amidst a global pandemic is not something I take for granted. Despite this year’s uniqueness, I felt the way I always do on my birthday. I felt joy and gratitude.

I feel birthdays are the perfect time to be selfish, so I make the day solely about me. I don’t do anything work or school related and I unplug from the world. I limit my time on social media and just sit with myself. I then list the things I am grateful for in my life. It helps to see all the goodness in your life when it’s written down.

Birthdays are also the best times in my opinion to do self-reflection. I mean after all, a whole year has past and that can be measured easily. I reflect on my past year’s accomplishments, fears, tough situations, and joyous moments. I look at things that changed and things that haven’t. After that, I compare my last year to my overall life goals. If I see I fell short of making great progress, I try not to consider the last year of my life to be a bad one, instead I focus on how to do things differently to get closer to achieving my goals.

And you can’t forget about the festivities. Because birthdays symbolizes a new chapter in your life, I try to do something I’ve never done before or go somewhere I never been. Whatever the chosen adventure is, I do it alongside the people I love most and allow the memories to be made.

Birthdays are the best days . Cheers to growing wiser and most importantly, cheers to another year to get it right or wrong. Whatever happens, just know it’s going to be beautiful.

--

--