Apple AirTags: Navigating Battery Woes

You replaced the battery, and yet you are still experiencing battery problems.

Mad Machine
ILLUMINATION

--

By Author

I own almost a dozen AirTag devices. Most of them are over a year so the battery indicators in the “Find My” app are showing a red, low-battery icon.

Not wanting to wait until the battery drained completely, I ordered a pack of CR2032 Duracell batteries and proceeded to replace the batteries, starting with the airtags attached to my key rings.

Removing the battery was quite easy. In the “Find My” app, if you click on the “Replace Battery” link, the app will provide clear animated instructions, making it very easy to follow.

By Author

The New Battery Is Not Compatible

After replacing the battery with a new Duracell battery, to my surprise, it didn’t work. I reopened it and tried multiple times with the same result — the AirTag does not work.

After conducting some research, I learned that AirTags are not compatible with Duracell batteries due to a protective coating designed to discourage children from swallowing them. This coating adds a bitter

--

--

Mad Machine
ILLUMINATION

I’m a DevOps engineer, but I love to tinker with all kinds of technologies.