Are they all really happy?

Mood Palette
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 26, 2024

We see so many perfect bonds and feel like we have less.

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

We see so many perfect bonds and feel like we have less.

One day, I saw my colleagues hanging out and laughing in a group, and I felt like I wanted this too. But everything that shines isn’t gold.

We went on a trip recently. Until this trip, I thought they were all good friends. However, during this trip, I found one of them crying and telling me how much she hates all of them and how they hurt her feelings. I consoled her and listened to her rant for an hour. The next day, I found her laughing with them and ignoring me. Why? Is something wrong with me? No. She did this because she wants to fit in rather than have real connections.

Then two among them, who seemed like besties in the group, fought like they didn’t have any bond whatsoever, as if they didn’t know each other at all.

These colleagues who seem like best friends apparently don’t like each other much, and their bond is as superficial as many Instagram influencers’ “no filter” morning pics.

I thought to myself a couple of questions after this trip. Do I need these kinds of superficial people in my life? I know it’s lonely sometimes, but would I be happier if I had these empty bonds? The answer was a clear no. What would be your answer to these questions?

On the surface, they look like the perfect group of friends. But if you just observe a little, you will see the reality: they are all trying to fit in.

You and I, we might have one thing in common: we want laughter with people who have our back when we are low in life.

--

--