Are we making money to live or living to make money?

Hussein Khidr
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

The reality of the world we live in today.

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Are we making money to live, or are we living to make money?” As a young man with a green and active mind, I’ve found myself pondering this question. A less disheartening answer is that we make money so we can live, although this in itself is very sad to think about.

This raises an obvious question: To live a life you can be proud of, do you chase the lifestyle or the means to get the desired life?

Chasing the lifestyle may ultimately end in your doom, depending on how frugal you want to live. But chasing the means to your desired lifestyle would result in delaying or forfeiting the lifestyle itself.

A paradox of life. One that can only be fulfilled with determination, commitment, hard work, and all the other good qualities that you can think of, the most important of which are luck and privilege.

At the heart of this question lies the pursuit of a life that feels truly meaningful and fulfilling. While the balance between making money and living a rich life may seem elusive, it’s worth remembering that true wealth often lies in the richness of our experiences, relationships, and sense of purpose.

As we navigate this complex journey, let’s strive to find harmony between our financial goals and our deeper aspirations for a life well lived.

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed it, you can consider clapping 50 times 😉, following me to never miss a beat, and checking out some of my other works. But most importantly, leave your thoughts in the comments, as this is the biggest reason I’m uploading my work.

You can support me by buying me a coffee here.

--

--

Hussein Khidr
ILLUMINATION

I write about everyday things you don't think about but may matter more than you think, just read and see what I mean.