Data Science and Transparent Reality

Are Writers Paid 4 Times for the Reads & Engagement of Friends of Medium?

I offer insights from a scholarly MIT data scientist who analyzed my failed story about STIs independently, with a fun tutorial for those curious about visibility and monetization on this platform.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
12 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Friend Link for Non-Members

Recently, I had the pleasure of collaborating with a team of esteemed data scientists to analyze five years’ worth of data from Medium, NewsBreak, and Substack. They graciously offered their expertise as a favor, demonstrating the value of long-term professional relationships. I am profoundly grateful for their support.

In this story, I want to share a unique case study that addresses a common question I have received from numerous writers and readers who have upgraded their memberships to Friends of Medium (FoM). The burning question: Does Medium really pay writers four times more for reads and engagement from FoM readers?

Given my packed schedule and the complexity of this task, I turned to a highly respected data scientist. This scholar holds a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com