Are You A Polymath, Philomath, or a Genius?

(Plus 5 characteristics to improve and become a polymath)

Brett Millan
ILLUMINATION

--

Image by Luc Viatour / https://Lucnix.be on Wikimedia Commons

I can’t remember the first time I heard the word “polymath.” However, I do remember the first time I paid attention to it. I was reading an article on the difference between a polymath, a philomath, and a genius. Unfortunately, I can’t find that specific article online anymore, but I remember finding it really interesting.

Definitions of Each

If you’re like I was and don’t know what a polymath and philomath are, let me give you a couple quick definitions:

A polymath is a person who has broad and comprehensive knowledge about many different subjects.

Often, these are the people who you might refer to as the “jacks (or janes) of all trades.”

A philomath, by definition, is someone who loves learning and studying.

Meanwhile, if we go by the psychological definition of genius, a genius would be someone who scores above the 98% percentile on a recognized IQ test.

Questions That Came to Mind

After reading that article, several questions came to mind:

  • Would a polymath automatically a philomath? Or vice-versa?

--

--

Brett Millan
ILLUMINATION

I’m a curious person, who pursues different interests, from Anthropology to Writing to Education and also Business/Finance. I love to share perspectives.