Are You A “Yes, And” Or A “Yes, But” Type Of Person?

PSSST There’s A Third Option!

Sylvie Beliveau
ILLUMINATION

--

Non-medium members can read this FREELY HERE.

Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

Let’s define what I mean.

In a conversation, how do you respond to someone’s share?

Do you respond with “oh yeah, me too, and then…”, “yes, I totally relate, and what about when X happens?” This is a “yes, and” type of person.

Or do you respond with a “but have you thought about this?”, “sure, but not in this case.” This is what I mean by a “yes, but” type of person.

In both cases, you seem to be agreeing with the person. Which is why I’m including the “Yes” in both descriptions.

I do think it’s a good start to connecting with someone, to add the “yes”. It’s a way of quickly saying you know where they are coming from.

But let’s go further.

A “yes, and” response makes you feel like you are agreeing with the person.

And the “yes, but” response feels a little less supportive.

I’d challenge that both are having the same effect.

--

--