Are You “Teacher Tired?” Decision Fatigue and Some Ways to Help

Sure, it’s not manual labor, but it’s taxing in other ways

John Corso
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Taylor Flowe on Unsplash

Even if you’re not a teacher, you’ve probably experienced it sometimes. You get home after a long day at work, with a to-do list of chores and errands to do. You collapse onto the couch, maybe pull up a blanket and turn the TV on, and *poof*, all of a sudden it’s almost time for bed.

We call this “Teacher Tired” because in the profession we experience this feeling more days than not.

The tolls of teaching

I absolutely know there are careers out there that are physically tougher than being a teacher. I’m not doing heavy construction, policing the streets, or performing surgery every day. But I know how I feel at the end of every day.

Exhausted. My head buzzed. Unable to function. I have things I want to accomplish, but I put them off for another day. That includes my desire to write stories here on Medium.

But why is it so tiring?

Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

--

--

John Corso
ILLUMINATION

NYC teacher, ponderer, artist. 40-something is the new 30-something.