CHANNELING AHEAD

Army Brats

Why I’ve Been Ghosting and Ghosted Much of My Life

Pauline Evanosky: writer, psychic, channel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJul 30, 2023

--

Our family: Mom and Dad, left-to-right Pauline, Joe, Mike, Chuck, and Betsy in front

Most people are not aware of what it is like to be an Army brat. It is both an honor and an explanation about the person so designated.

Army brats, for the most part, as many other service families, are hauled around from one military base to another. The times between the army bases we were stationed at went from 18 months to three years.

You learned to lean on the family. Your friendships were necessarily short. Nobody protested. That was life. You got dragged around. As adults, I am sure we all have problems with relationships.

I learned to duck and run. Quickly. Outside of Army life, once I was an adult, I ended up ghosting a lot of people, but then some of them ghosted me too. I didn’t even know that was a term until recently. There was, from my point of view as an Army Brat, much grief. It was hard to say goodbye to a dear friend, knowing you would probably never see them again. Yep, lots of grief.

Of course, we wrote letters to each other for a while. Back when my handwriting was larger and mostly optimistic. Likely, there might be a technical term that could be employed, like a dissociative disorder or an unwillingness to commit.

--

--

Pauline Evanosky: writer, psychic, channel
ILLUMINATION

I talk to dead guys. I have been a psychic channel since 1993. I love to write and hope you enjoy what I write about. Based in Oakland, California.