As an Uber Eats Driver, I’m NEVER Doing Another Walmart Delivery

Scott Kinkade
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 16, 2022

--

Here’s why.

Photo by Marques Thomas @querysprout.com on Unsplash

I started driving for Uber Eats last June, and since then, I’ve done over 1,500 deliveries. Some of those were Walmart deliveries. For some reason, I thought I had to do them to succeed on the platform. Back then, I was worried about being punished for declining too many orders.

But now?

I refuse every single one.

Why? Because they’re ****. They require far more work for the same pay.

Allow me to explain. In addition to restaurant orders, Uber Eats will also send you grocery and convenience store orders. The former includes Walmart. When you receive one, it looks like this.

Photo by author

As you can see, this doesn’t pay any better than a restaurant order. Oh, but it gets better! It doesn’t tell you how big the order is, nor does it give you an idea of the size. You could get an order like this:

Photo by author

--

--

Scott Kinkade
ILLUMINATION

Author of science fiction and fantasy novels who deals with Asperger’s. Travelholic. Speaks Japanese.