Attract, Don’t Chase — #Cliche

Pratik Asija
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2023
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Relationship FOMO is a common feeling, where the fear of missing out on love and companionship can lead one to impulsively jump into a relationship. However, succumbing to this pressure can harm our chances of finding true love. Embracing solitude and focusing on self-discovery is a healthier approach to finding a fulfilling relationship.

When we give in to Relationship FOMO, we may find ourselves in a relationship for all the wrong reasons. We may overlook important red flags or settle for someone who doesn’t truly align with our values and desires. This can lead to disappointment and heartache in the long run. Instead of chasing relationships, it’s important to take a step back and focus on self-discovery and personal growth. By understanding and loving ourselves, we are better equipped to attract a partner who complements our life and loves us for who we are.

Society often glamorizes the idea of being in a relationship and deems being single as a temporary phase. However, I have learned through personal experience that chasing relationships can lead to disappointment and dissatisfaction. In the past, I would jump from one relationship to the next without taking the time to understand what I truly wanted. I thought that having someone by my side would solve all of my problems, but it never did. I was so focused on finding love that I overlooked the importance of self-discovery and self-love.

“To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance.” — Oscar Wilde

To find true happiness and a fulfilling relationship, I realized that I needed to focus on myself and my own personal growth. I took a step back from dating and embraced solitude, using it as an opportunity to pursue my passions and develop new interests, surround myself with supportive friends and family, and learn to love and accept myself. By doing so, I was able to develop a strong sense of self-awareness, identify what I wanted in a partner, and build a fulfilling life for myself.

As I worked on myself, I noticed a change in the types of people I was attracting into my life. Instead of settling for partners who were not a good fit, I found myself drawn to individuals who complemented my life and shared my values. And, when I finally met someone who was right for me, our relationship was built on a foundation of mutual respect, trust, and love.

My advice to anyone feeling like they are chasing a relationship is to focus on yourself more. Embrace solitude and use it as a time for self-discovery, self-love, and personal growth. Trust that the right person will come into your life when the time is right. Relationships are meant to enhance our lives, not complete them. Don’t chase a relationship, chase self-discovery and self-love, and the right person will come along when you are truly ready for them.

“The greatest thing in the world is to know how to belong to oneself.” — Michel de Montaigne

One of the biggest lessons I have learned is that true love starts with loving yourself. When you have a strong sense of self-love and self-worth, you will attract the right person into your life who will appreciate and love you for who you are. So, take the time to focus on yourself and your own personal growth. Trust that the right person will come along when the time is right. And, in the meantime, embrace solitude and enjoy the journey.

--

--

Pratik Asija
ILLUMINATION

Life is more beautiful than you will ever realize. Embrace the gift and let it work out, it all works out in the end. Live Long and Prosper.