Australia Day?

Aj Bhardwaj
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 31, 2022

Or should it be named ‘Invasion’ day?

Well, Australia Day has come and gone. Hope you were able to spend some quality time with your loved ones. We visited some friends that live near Terrigal, NSW. Beautiful spot and the weather didn’t disappoint.

We went to North Shelley Beach, a dog-friendly space. I was hoping to get Jet to finally enjoy the water. He didn’t. Even though there were several pups in the water. Regardless, it was a good day.

image by Channel 9 news

I spent a decent amount of time catching up with my friend Duke who I hadn’t spoken to properly in a while. We never really speak of normal things, though. I assumed my wife and Stella, Duke’s partner, would have spoken about work, life and everything in between.

Instead, we spoke about some touchy subjects. Duke has always been a liberal debater and loves a solid argument. We sat on the dunes facing the roaring waves as Jet played tag with the waves. Duke mentioned the dilemmas around the naming of Australia Day and why he didn’t feel the need for it to be changed.

If you weren’t aware, thousands of people marched in protest across several cities yesterday in Australia. There was also a memorial dawn service.

Image by Guardian Australia

“This is a day where we come together and mourn together … as a community, as families and allies,” she told Guardian Australia. “The strength that you feel when you’re surrounded by people who are standing in solidarity on this day is a feeling of hope … not having that presence and that activism out there on this day is hard. It is very hard. I just want to acknowledge all of those Blak families at home today who are feeling the pain, the loss and the trauma of what happened on this day.”

As Charles was reading down the list, television crews began converging on a statue of Captain James Cook in St Kilda, which was doused in red paint overnight.

An excerpt from the Guardian Article.

This is a touchy subject for many. Duke values his freedom of speech and freedom of movement over everything. I am, perhaps, not the same. I hold value over freedom of speech and see great danger when we begin to be forced to speak in a particular fashion in order to appease a crowd. That being said, nothing should be used as a blanket approach.

Duke’s main point of argument was simple. “Unless I am covering my entire car with Black Lives matter stickers, a token aboriginal flag, posting regularly on social media about these subjects and protesting also, I am also the enemy. When did it become a crime to just sit and enjoy a day off. But no, now I am an insensitive racist because I don’t join the protest.”

Hmm.

As I said, a touchy subject.

26 January 1788 marked the proclamation of British sovereignty over the eastern seaboard of Australia. It is popularly known for the landing of the first fleet and is linked, for several of the First Nation people, with “genocide and irreversible trauma.”

“Not out of a guilt, but to right the wrongs of the past, not to continue to be in our present,” said Wiradjuri woman and Sydney City councillor Yvonne Weldon. “If we don’t, we will never truly create an all-embracing future.”

I relate to that statement.

I am unclear on what the right thing here is. As I write this, I feel trembles and a sick feeling is rising in my stomach. Several of my readers come from different backgrounds and I wonder how you all will take this.

Being a migrant myself, I have called Australia my home now for over 22 years. I owe everything to it. My wife and the way of living. Is there something to celebrate? It feels like there is.

I am of the opinion that two truths can exist and one can mourn for the past yet celebrate for a future. Several now call for a Change the date. “Nearly 60% of respondents support changing the day or keeping it and establishing a separate day to recognise Indigenous Australians”. Will this be enough?

Only time will tell.

Subscribe to my newsletter for long-form prose and poetry.

www.brokensticks.substack.com

--

--