Back to Work

It took me four months to finally get back to a place I call home

Saeed Khan
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJul 29, 2024

--

Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash

I resumed my writing journey after a break of almost four months. The last time I posted my work here was on March 4, 2024.

I had exams in the last week of March, and I had to work really hard to prepare myself for the exams. So, I devoted all my time and attention to the preparation.

By the end of March the exams were over, and I performed well in all subjects.

Then, I had another task ahead. I also had to appear in screening tests for two different positions in government institutions.

So, I put everything else on hold and focused on the screening tests.

During this period, I couldn’t post a single story here. I had to put in all my time and efforts to prepare: first for the exams, and later for the screening tests.

I attempted both the tests by the end of April, and there was no other task pending for me.

All these days, I remained completely untouched with my “Medium” community. I missed all my friends so much.

After attempting the screening tests, I was supposed to come back to my “Medium community”, but things were different now.

I was even unable to read my friend’s stories, let alone write my own. Even the thought of starting anew with writing would scare me.

I wasn’t happy with this attitude of mine.

One day, I received an email from the Medium team, saying I was gaining more followers. I opened the email to discover who the new followers were. After checking the email, I opened Medium app and started reading stories.

It was an amazing feeling to read a story on Medium after months. Finally, I got the motivation I had lost for several weeks, and resumed my journey with Medium.

I started reading my friend’s stories regularly, and commending their work. But, writing a new story myself and posting it was still a challenge.

Some Medium friends reached out to me (Thanks to them), and asked me to post a new story. I had no idea what to write and where to start from.

I start motivating and telling myself that it was more than enough, and I can’t afford wasting my time anymore. Because I spent two months (March, April) preparing for the exams and tests, and wasted two more months (May, June) doing nothing at all.

Finally, I mustered the courage to write a story and tell my friends where I had been all these days.

By remaining untouched for so long on the writing journey, I learned a few things:

  1. Your goal demands a chain of consistent actions. Remember that individual actions can bear you no fruit. No matter how strong the metal rings are, they can make a solid chain only when they are connected to one another.
  2. The longer you delay, the more you will pay. You’ll forget important information and knowledge of your field if you don’t take timely action. In order to preserve your knowledge of writing, you should stay connected with your community members.
  3. By staying away from your field, you also lose your motivation, and it’s very challenging to regain the lost motivation.
  4. The longer you stay away from your chosen pursuit, the more hesitant and anxious you become. You also lose the courage to take prompt action.

Thank you for reading! I hope it helps: if so, don’t leave without clapping 50 times. Please leave a comment if there is anything you want to say. Pressing the follow button would be great encouragement.

--

--

Saeed Khan
ILLUMINATION

My name is Saeed Khan, and I'm an educator cum writer. I enjoy reading books, articles, blogs and stories. To become a great writer is my dream