BALI: Instagram VS Reality

Fabiana Palano
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMar 2, 2022

--

Aling Aling Waterfalls — image provided by the author

It will take you a little time to figure it out but, for the most part, essentially, Bali looks like this:

Almost everyone will recommend you to stay in Canggu. My personal opinion: do not listen to them. Canggu won’t give you a taste of what Bali really is. They all travel thousands and thousands of miles just to do the same things they do at home: eat the same food, party all day and check in into somewhere with the same comforts they had just left behind. You have to ask yourself… what is the point of that?

I crossed the ocean and cut myself loose looking for something more beautiful, more exciting, something I knew nothing about.

I was told this is where people come to heal, to find out who they are, to dig down into their spirit. I spent a month in Canggu and it just felt like everyone left their homes trying to get into something different, but they all ended up doing the same damn thing.

At the end of that month, I had no idea how big was what I wasn’t seeing of Bali, but I had a feeling. This can’t be it. I opened the map and picked another area, far down south. I hopped on my bike and went exploring for the day. I found Uluwatu. Palm trees…

--

--

Fabiana Palano
ILLUMINATION

Quit a corporate job in Italy and started a fashion business in New York City. I travel, I write and I take stunning photos.