Baseball in the Rain

You Can Learn A Lot From Kids

Andrew M King
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Eduardo Balderas on Unsplash

I was sitting in the rain in a dark green poncho and matching wide-brimmed hat — commonly called a boonie hat. The game hadn’t started yet, but I was already a bit miffed that we were there. Baseball wasn’t a game you played in the rain, after all.

I was relieved when our coach shared the news that the other team had decided not to show up. “Good,” I thought. “Time for breakfast.” I stood up and got ready to pack the chairs back up and go.

Our children had other ideas.

Our kindergartners got rid of the tee they were hitting with, and one of the dads took over as a pitcher. As the gray sky poured down on them, our kids batted and ran the bases and had the time of their lives. My daughter even smacked a good one and beat out the throw to first. She’s never swung at a thrown ball before. It was awesome.

Children have resilience and adaptability that we rigid adults should study. I had already decided the game was a washout. The kids decided it had only just begun.

Not for the first time, I missed my childhood.

As I race towards 50 at an alarming rate, I start to think more about things like this. I don’t necessarily want to be young again (although I’d love to have my 22-year-old body back), but I would like…

--

--

Andrew M King
ILLUMINATION

Writer. Husband. Father. Disabled Veteran. Living and learning each and every day! Top Writer May 2023 for Parenting topic!