Be a dog!

Grace Suh
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2020
Buddy the dog (Photo by Grace Suh)

When I was in school, struggling under the weight of my thesis and heartbreak, my always upbeat friend Christine told me, “Be a dog!” And so I was: Head down, get up, go to class, study, work, come home, sleep, get up, go to class, study, work, come home, sleep. I slogged through.

Over the years in challenging times, I have whispered that advice to myself: “Be a dog.” Head down, stay focused, do what you need to do, and repeat. Slog through. Not only that, but I’ve passed that advice on to family, friends and colleagues.

Four years ago, Buddy the dog became part of our family. I soon realized how the mantra I adopted was right, but my interpretation of “just getting by” wasn’t. On walks, Buddy smells each blade of grass, each pine needle. On almost every outing, he strives in vain, but with full speed and determination, to catch his dream squirrel or bunny. He insists on giving more licks than he receives in pets. If a member of his family pack is hurt or sad, he’s cuddled up next to them.

Science tells us that dogs and humans have the same hormones that produce emotions like love but is less clear on whether dogs truly embody traits like gratitude. From my vantage point, Buddy is such an appreciative, hopeful and empathetic being. He transparently communicates what he needs through a range of intonations and expressions. He holds no grudges. He breathes in each moment with his own canine mindfulness. He never just gets by, and that’s how every day seems like a pretty great one to him.

There are certainly days to slog through. But even on those, gratitude can offer light. According to Dr. Robert Emmons, professor of psychology at the University of California, Davis, if you make the effort to go through grateful motions — saying thank you, smiling, focusing on something that a friend or stranger has done for you, you will begin to experience actual feelings of gratitude.

If truth be told, I hired a dog walker last year. There were days that I just didn’t feel like walking Buddy — too much work, hadn’t made dinner, or felt depleted from a long day.

With the pandemic and social distancing, I am back to walking Buddy daily, rain or shine. There are still days I drag myself out and go through the motion of walking him along our neighborhood loop. But always, somewhere along the way, I remember to be a dog.

--

--