Be Better At Your Next Interview

How I approach interviews, and how I think it helped me to succeed.

Zikry Zhiwei
ILLUMINATION

--

A handshake between two men
Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

You can skip to the second half of this article for tips, but I thought I should provide context to illustrate what interviews meant to me, and how much it should mean to you too.

A conversation with a friend about his interview for medical school made me think about the interviews I have had in my life. I have probably gone through at least five different interviews and never failed an interview before. I have had people ask me how they should prepare for an interview. The advice I gave was, to be honest, and show how much want it, but that doesn't always work for others. It’s not my intention to humblebrag, nor am I trying to flex in any weird way. But it got me thinking about why did things turn out the way they did for me, and not necessarily for others.

Desperation

My first interview was the biggest deal for me. Back then, I was hell-bent on getting into medical school. The best way to get into medical school was to aim for pre-college or junior college. They are for the academically inclined, otherwise for people who can afford tuition outside of regular school. The second is to be in a biology-related diploma but the success rate of that is way smaller, but still, it was a chance. I…

--

--