Be kind to yourself first.

Mood Palette
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2024

Hey stranger!

Photo by Anastasiia Krutota on Unsplash

You don’t know me and I don’t know ya, and still, you believed in me to tap on this article, how sweet of you!

Now, who am I?

I am an amazing person with a kind heart (I believe that) who is scared of the world because of the way it is.

I am taken for granted a lot of times because I help people without making them wait. I nod to people when they talk to make them feel heard, although I am barely heard.

You might have felt something similar someday. You are not alone, I have many stories similar to this.

But, we both don’t need to stop being nice and kind, the world needs more people like us, right? I believe that. Being kind and helpful is not at all something we should be afraid of.

But, you beautiful human, don’t forget to take care of yourself in the process.

It is absolutely okay to take a moment and say no when you have your own to-do list filled with tasks. We don’t need to feel ashamed of having a life.

If you feel you are being taken granted for, talk to them. Let them know that you are there for them, but you don’t like the condescending tone or how they expect you to just say yes without thinking.

You deserve kindness too! Be kind to yourself first. Be there for yourself, before being there for the world.

You are amazing, I hope you know that 💚

--

--