That’s Not How Beauty Works: Your Beauty Is Not Only in the Eyes of the Beholder

The difference between logic and passion embodies the same untouchable humanity as wisdom.

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

--

Do you know the feeling of being a sports icon in your hometown?

I had strange encounters with other students making up coincidental conversation topics, just so they could tell people at school we were friends. Basically, against my will, I was an athletic icon.

I hated to be a public figure in my community, so much so that I took refuge in books.

In the summer, I played beach volleyball in the national championship. The rivalry between the surfers and us to win over the most beautiful girls was highly competitive.

I never understood why I was so neglected by most of the summer muses I fell in love with until my best friend pointed at my right hand and told me:

How can girls date a guy that brings a philosophy book everywhere he goes?

I looked down at the copy of Plato’s Allegory of the Cave in my hand. I thought I’d be ingenious- that it was somehow exotic for a girl to see a young man with the body of the statue of David and the brain of a philosopher from ancient Greece.

--

--

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

I write about Finance, Macro Economy, Innovation, and Crypto. Editor for The Price of Tomorrow, writer for The Startup, and DataDrivenInvestor.