Being an Indonesian Down Under

What did I learn from living in Australia for the past years?

Christopher Reno Budiman
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo courtesy by the author

Living in Australia felt like a dream. Since I was young, I always dreamt about living overseas. A lot of things that I can imagine if I live out of town: being more independent, eating good food, meeting with more people from different countries and learn many things.

The real question is, which country will I be? I went to different countries for a holiday and there’s a lot of options to choose from. But Australia is never one of them.

My parents and I had this discussion on where should I move for my tertiary education. My parents believe that Australia or New Zealand were the best options. They would like me to be in an English speaking country to improve my English skill. In the end, Australia was much more favourable option.

Interestingly, I never thought that I will be in Australia for a living. Imagine for someone that never been to Australia for holiday, decided to move for his study. It feels very weird, exactly what I felt when I landed in Adelaide for the first time.

July 2015: First day in Adelaide. Photo courtesy by the author

--

--

Christopher Reno Budiman
ILLUMINATION

Explorer | Writer | Entrepreneur-minded IG: @christopherreno LinkedIn: Christopher Reno Budiman. Business inquiries: chrisbudiman@outlook.com