Being Embarrassed All The Time

How I deal with feeling shameful all the time

Mira Lucas
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

I get embarrassed easily.

I get embarrassed by the way I answer the phone. I get embarrassed by the way I walk. I get embarrassed by the amount of time it takes me to choose the right avocado in the supermarket.

I get embarrassed at night, thinking back on all the times I made a fool of myself.

Of course, it’s not the end of the world to feel embarrassed from time to time. But if you’re embarrassed easily, like I am, it can definitely hold you back. If you’re always punishing yourself for every small mistake, you become cautious.

You start over-analyzing your own behavior, and it gets harder and harder to take risks and be spontaneous.

And the feeling of cringe isn’t exactly a pleasant feeling.

As Carl Gustav Jung puts it:

‘Shame is a soul eating emotion.’

Which is why I decided (as part of my journey, to be more vulnerable and less risk-averse) to deal with my constant embarrassment.

Why we feel shame

Shame is defined as “the painful feeling arising from the consciousness of something dishonorable, improper, ridiculous, etc., done by oneself or

--

--

Mira Lucas
ILLUMINATION

Freelance journalist. I like cats, coffee, and equality. Editor at WAVE 4. Join Medium: https://miralucas.medium.com/membership