Cybersecurity Awareness

Beware of Spam Accounts on Story Comments That Might Cause Security Problems

These spam accounts might lead to social engineering and phishing attacks, causing cybersecurity impact and implications.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readNov 5, 2023

--

Photo by cottonbro studio from Pexels

Earlier today, several readers of my stories contacted me privately via email or my Slack workspace, puzzled by why I asked them to contact me through Telegram when joining the Medium community, as the message did not make any sense to them.

Many readers expressed concerns, rightfully sensing a scam, while others were genuinely curious about Telegram, a platform I don’t frequently use for security reasons. And some readers even thought that my account was hacked, and they asked me to report it immediately. I was grateful for the vigilance of my readers.

The purpose of this short post is to alert my readers to the existence of a new fake account designed to harvest information from Medium members, potentially for malicious intent. This creates serious concerns for our safety and security on this platform.

Today, I’ve noticed spam comments on many of my articles, including the new one about sexual health, originating from an account with the same name and photo as mine, clearly…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com