Bidet-Free Wanderlust: Searching for Cleanliness on the Road

The struggles of travel without my hygiene hero

Roshana Ariel
ILLUMINATION

--

AI image generated using prompts by the author. Photo of a toilet with water splashing out.
AI image created using prompts by the author. This is what the Midjourney image-generating bot thinks a bidet looks like.

My husband and I just returned from a 10-day road trip across the majestic Land of the Free, our beautiful America. There are few things in life that evoke the sense of home more than that of turning into your own driveway, unlocking the front door, and seeing that everything is in its rightful place after a long journey.

Our mostly blind and deaf dog, who joined us on our adventure, could hardly contain his delight in realizing that this final stop contained all our well-worn furniture, the familiar smells and his favorite toys. His little body danced and wiggled as he rubbed his happy face on chairs and sofas and beds as if to say, “Yes! This is home! Everything is still here!”

While I looked forward to sleeping again in our comfy bed with my favorite pillow, my truest joy was in being reunited with my bathroom bidet.

My bidet is a simple yet invaluable bathroom fixture — one of the more humble varieties. I don’t have the chair-sized porcelain washing stations you might find in Europe. Mine is a modest model that sells for around 50 bucks, installs beneath the toilet seat, and offers a sweet, refreshing spray for those dainty bits.

--

--

Roshana Ariel
ILLUMINATION

I write about how to live life well even when it’s crazy or difficult. I’ve had lots of practice! As an editor, I love to rewrite my life to make it beautiful.