Bigger Shoulders

How overlap affects your muscle gains

Nasar Karim
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Gary Meulemans on Unsplash

I’ve been training for decades, and my shoulders have always been my weak point. This year I made one simple change that has caused them to grow faster than ever before. In this article, I’ll start by sharing the change with you so you can use it for your own shoulder training. Then I’ll explain overlap; what it is, how it affects your training, and how you can use an awareness of it to improve your workouts. I’ll also touch upon other overriding training principles that you should be aware of to get the most from your workouts.

You can just read the first part of the article to get the technique, or you can read the whole article to understand the principles underlying the technique.

The change

For the majority of my training career I have used whole body routines. These have always proved the most effective for the longest amount of time, for me and all of my training partners. Because of the amount of energy required by larger body parts, it makes sense to train them at the start of the workout. That means full-body routines should always begin with leg training.

A good order for full-body workouts would be to train legs, followed by back, followed by chest, followed by shoulders, and followed by arms. I have found my arms grow faster when I…

--

--