Bring More Meaning to a Daily Chore

The Good Habit Coach
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 7, 2023

Mini Blog Series — Part II

Image by S V from Pixabay

Hello readers,

If you have read the introductory blog, you would understand the journey that I am on.

For those who would rather skip reading the entire blog post, here is an excerpt that would help you understand this mini-blog series.

“I am now 6 months into my journey with gardening and decided to write about my little experiences of what I’ve learned and what I intend to learn about gardening, my mini attempts to get me and my family closer to nature, esp my daughter.

I would love to share my journey with you in this mini-blog series. Just follow along, with whatever resources you have and whatever time you can spare in a day.”

Well, it is not just gardening that I would like to write about but anything that can get us closer to Mother Earth, for our own mental and physical well-being and that of our environment.

Let us get started with the most random but wholesome content.

Sundays are reserved for a visit to the vegetable market to stock up for the week. I love taking my 4-year-old daughter also along as she thoroughly enjoys holding veggies in her hands and shouting out their names. Fresh yellow mangoes and hearty-looking greens are a mood-lifter.

Image by Jerzy Górecki from Pixabay

It was not always so, and I always used to look at it as just another chore. It was only after I saw my daughter’s excitement at being in the vegetable market, that I realized it could be something fun too. And decided to at least try to enjoy my time there.

Image by Michelle Raponi from Pixabay

I started talking to the vendors as I picked the veggies. Like where the produce comes from, and even how their day goes. And as you converse with them, you turn this mundane activity into something more meaningful. An insight into a life that you hardly know anything about.

So today, the vendor taught me how to pick melons! What to look for and what to reject. Even my little one enjoyed listening to him and picked up a few things.

So while we are happy looking at just-harvested veggies in the farmer’s market, how do we hold the ones we have, fresh? At least for a week or till consumed — whichever is earlier!

I don’t have all the info, guys. But as I said, I am on this journey with you and we shall learn — post by post. Together.

Let us first start small by learning how to make leafy greens last longer.

Image by Matthias Böckel from Pixabay

This category includes — Spinach, Cilantro, Mint, Kale, Fenugreek, Mustard leaves, Beet Greens, Curry Leaves, etc.

  1. When you buy them, make sure they are dry. The vendors have a tendency of sprinkling water on them to make them look fresh. Resist buying the damp ones and ask for dry greens.
  2. Once you get the bundle home, chop off the stalk. Not entirely but make sure you have cut at least half of the stem. This is to avoid any rot in the stem that may spoil your veggie later. Remove wilted pieces.
  3. I suggest you do not wash the greens as it would introduce moisture and would spoil it faster.
  4. Wrap them in a paper towel and store them as it is in the refrigerator. Or else line a container with a paper towel and loosely pack the veggies in them. You can also replace the container with a reusable Zip Lock bag.

I wash the greens only as and when I need them. If you do feel the need to wash them before storing them, make sure you dry them out before putting them in the container/bags.

I and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed picking up the greens and sorting them into different containers. She loved neatly lining the containers with paper towels and placing the veggies in them, very cautiously.

A daily chore, not so boring anymore when you engage the kids. Isn't that right?

Do comment on what works for you when it comes to storing veggies!

Have a great day!

--

--

The Good Habit Coach
ILLUMINATION

Good Habits are as addictive as Bad ones. Lets get better. One habit at a time.