Blue Collar vs White Collar Job — Which Is Better?

I worked them both and here is my opinion

AP Carpen
ILLUMINATION

--

One person displayed twice with one dressed as a white collar worker and the second dressed as a blue collar worker
Original Image by Author Created using Canva

I had no money for college when I was graduating from high school and had no financial aid I could get. We had no family car, so I could only get local jobs until I got my driver’s license.

From a young age, I had a paper route, cut grass, shoveled snow, raked leaves, and did other minor tasks. When I was older, I got a job at the gas station across the street from our apartment.

Blue Collar

My first full-time regular job was at a gas and service station. I was the gas jockey and also performed minor mechanical work on cars. This included oil changes, grease jobs, fan belt changes, etc.

I worked in the station for 3 years when a customer offered me a job with his construction company. Even though I could not even swing a hammer, he wanted to hire me and teach me his way of doing things.

I stayed at this job for 10 years. We did additions to houses and renovations. We did not build entire houses as we were a small outfit. But I learned everything there was in home construction so I could have built a house. The only thing we did not do was plumbing and electrical, as you needed licenses for that.

--

--

AP Carpen
ILLUMINATION

Paid Member; Semi-Retired Software Developer; Will write about computers for non-techs, human nature, how-to, and some humor; Developing a YouTube channel