Booksellers Live in a Special Place, a Unique Address, an Exceptional Scene

How community-makers have the power to change someone’s approach to life.

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

--

The knowing way in which a seasoned bookseller disappears between the shelves on the hunt for the perfect fit for a reader (often delivering obscure but wondrous surprises) is unmatched.- Chiara Rimella in Monocle, issue 140.

When I was in my early 20s, some bookseller suggested a simple book called “Seasons of Life.” I wanted something from a specific author, and the bookseller, smiling at me, said: I know what you’re searching for. I’ll suggest this book, but you must be prepared for it. The content you’re about to read is so simple; I don’t know if you’re ready for it.

At first, I thought he was just trying to be funny until I went home and started to read what Jim Rohn had to say to me. The bookseller was proper. I wasn’t prepared for such straightforward content.

I was expecting to read a sophisticated text on personal growth, but after all, what I learned was that life was much more straightforward than I imagined. With simple analogies to the four seasons of the…

--

--

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

I write about Finance, Macro Economy, Innovation, and Crypto. Editor for The Price of Tomorrow, writer for The Startup, and DataDrivenInvestor.