Break Off My Fingers & Grate Them!

Go ahead and try. I won’t cry.

Carmen Micsa, MA in English, podcaster
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo taken by CARMEN F MICSA

Life is not easy when you’re a citrus fruit
only looking like a lemon
with long, lithe finger-like fragments
that you must break off & grate.

A fragrant, fruitless fruit
with a bright yellow appearance,
you must grate my fingers & turn
my rind into salad dressings, baked goods, & drinks.

When you see my curly fingers
you might think that I’m a freak,
but they show my ripeness & readiness
to greet the world.

As you look at my lemony
open & closed-fingered figure,
you will appreciate that I bring good luck in China
and good fortune in Japan.

As you realize that I resemble
a hand-position for prayer,
you will understand
why my name is Buddha’s hand.

Yet, you will still break off
my fingers & grate them,
but I promise you.
I will not cry. I will not cry.

--

--

Carmen Micsa, MA in English, podcaster
ILLUMINATION

Top writer in Ideas & Food. Mother, BA/MA in English, published author, poet, real estate broker/CEO, marathoner, & avid reader. Author of The Morsels of Love.