Breakaway From The Shackles.

A poem

Swagata Deshmukh
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Photo by Luis Galvez on Unsplash

I am tired of reading about women being violated daily,
of little children being preyed upon since early.
The fear of being around stranger men is real,
how no one might hear my struggles and squeals.

no one might hear me squeal.

But that doesn't mean we are safe in our homes,
they strike when the lust for skin overpowers their love.
Life as a girl is like a game of Russian Roulette,
I am given no choice so all I can do is play.

My sisters in villages are married off young,
mothers are always told to hold their tongues.
Boys are shamed for being openly feminine.
We are always told to stay within our lines.

But why should we live the way we are dictated?
To massage your damn ego and earn crumbs of bread?
You fear our independence, our bodies and minds,
So you shame us and keep us locked behind blinds.

We have fought bravely but the war isn't over,
to free every locked up spirit, we shall roar.
My queens, let's rise and pick up our battles,
it is time we finally break away from these shackles.

--

--

Swagata Deshmukh
ILLUMINATION

Funnily fabulous freelance writer because I eat confetti & snort humor✨ I love being creative, make memes and dream of becoming a cat one day!